Thursday, June 28, 2018

Awards given, new officers installed at Clearwater Casino dinner

Every June we install our club officers for the upcoming year (July 1-June 30). Denise Zaske was our MC for the evening. She's also our incoming Tail Twister. We enjoyed a great dinner and company at the Clearwater Casino & Resort.

Outgoing President John Macdonald recognizes Elda Armstrong, Dick Prine, Tom Settle and Chuck Weaver for lining up programs for our club meetings for the 2017-2018 year.

 Dennis Peters receives a certificate and engraved gavel for chairing the single most successful fund-raiser our club has had in the dinner auction (October 2017).

Outgoing President John Macdonald names Ginger Shields the recipient of the Gordon F. Smith Fellowship for her valuable contribution to the Multiple District 19 Lios-CARE partnership. Ginger was our zone chair for 2 years.

Special thanks to Jay Dahlquist for giving us 15 years as treasurer.

Sandi Dahlquist receives an award for her many years of service as club secretary for for keeping John's "ass out of trouble 2017-2018". Sandi remains as secretary for the 2018-2019 Lion year.

 Macdonald (right) names Steve Calhoun (incoming president) as Lion of the Year for his fantastic year of service.

Evening Pride Branch Club President Joyce Smith recognizes Dottie Ridgeway, Cecilie Burleson and Pauline Ostheller for the 2017-2018 year as treasurer, secretary and club liaison, respectively.

Karl Ostheller presents his wife, Pauline, with the Melvin Jones Fellow, a high honor in Lions.

MJF Facts

  • The Fellowship was established in 1973 and the Progressive program began in 1986 in response to Lions' request for a way to extend their commitment to LCIF.
  • Donations through MJFs provide 75 percent of the Lions Club International Foundation's annual revenue.

Incoming officers (l to r): Joyce Smith (Evening Pride president), Cecilie Burleson (Evening Pride secretary), Steve Calhoun (Noon president), Sandi Dahlquist (Noon secretary), Marilyn Kover (Evening Pride treasurer), Rick Wright (Lion tamer), John Macdonald (Noon treasurer), Terry Blais (1st vice president), Sherri Burch (service project coordinator), Carol Ryan (2nd vice president and LCIF coordinator), Linda Schwind (membership), Andy Hento and Joe Stenstrom (board of directors), Denise Zaske (Tail Twister), and Eric Thanem (board of directors).


Sunday, June 24, 2018

Welcome our newest member, Marilyn Wetland

Welcome to our newest Poulsbo Lion Marilyn Wetland (left) with sponsor Ginger Shields. It's GREAT to be a 🦁!

Thursday, June 21, 2018

Three pancake scholarships awarded

Meet three of our 2018 Viking Fest Pancake Breakfast scholarship recipients: Riley Tellinghuisen and Mikka Yamane from Kingston High School, and Tara Battaglia, MD19 Leo of the Year and 2nd time scholarship winner. Our Lion Karl Ostheller (2nd from right) presented the checks with President John Macdonald looking on at our June 21 noon meeting.

Noon Lions recognized for new centennial Lions

Lions Lynnea Heerman, Steve Calhoun and Ginger Shields were all recognized at our June 21 noon meeting for bringing in new Lions during our international centennial year. Not present but also receiving a 100 Centennial pin is Terry Blais.

Lion Jan Kelly, below, received that award PLUS another because her new member has been part of our club for a year already!

We love new members and new ideas to help our community, and we have fun while doing it! You're welcome to come to any meeting - Thursday at noon in the Social Hall at First Lutheran Church on 4th Avenue (lunch included). 

Friday, June 15, 2018

Lions Journey completed

Poulsbo Lion Terry Blais received a certificate for completing all 3 legs of the Lions Journey (for service and growth, and leadership) at yesterday's noon meeting from Vice District Governor Elect Pat Burch.

Thursday, June 14, 2018

High school Leos receive boat ride as thanks for pancake breakfast help

Lion pancake breakfast chairs Dennis Deitch and Terry Blais picked a beautiful day to take Leo high school students for a boat ride to say "Thank you" for all of their help during the Viking Fest event. Dennis keeps his boat at the Poulsbo Yacht Club, where we found this heron hanging out.

These 10 students made a BIG difference at our Viking Fest pancake breakfast.... and the best news is we ended up giving out $10,000 in scholarships.

Our fair city from the water.

Monday, June 11, 2018

Firehouse Garden getting underway

The eight beds at the Firehouse Garden off 10th Street are being planted now. Evening Pride Branch Lions Club is looking for a hose, nozzle, and lawn mower to mow the pathways down as the weeds grow. Also any starter plants are welcomed - especially beans, peas, and squashes would be greatly appreciated. Poulsbo Lions will be working on the garden at least every Tuesday and Saturday from 9 am to noon. All vegetables will be donated to Sharenet in Kingston.

Update: Many thanks to a local farmer, Jen Clark of Poulsbo, for contributing two flats of vegetables, Poulsbo Fire Station for donating tomato starts, and to Olmsted's Nursery for giving us a discount on many more starts.

Friday, June 8, 2018

Clean sweep for Viking Avenue

The group responsible for a clean Viking Avenue - Sherri Burch, Andy Hento, Pat Burch, Greg Supancheck, Chuck Weaver and Terry Blais (she took the photo). We consolidated our trash bags down to 4 big ones.

Lion Andy Hento

Lions Pat Burch and Chuck Weaver picked up trash so heavy it took both of them to carry the bag! Chuck wasn't happy....

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Exceptional Leos earn variety of awards; new Leo to Lion member too

Congrats to these Leos! From left: Ashley Jayroe (NKHS Leo of the Year), Gemma Clohesy and Abby Brown (tied for KHS Leo of the Year), Wren Mason-Todd (Peace Poster winner), Emalee Burgh (PMS Leo of the Year), Mackenzie Crow (KMS Leo of the Year) and Nate Blanchard (100% Leo President and Leo Leadership Award for MD19 District C).

Nate Blanchard, a senior at NK High, has earned the 100% Leo Club President award for 2017-2018.

Lion Karl Ostheller with Ashley Jayroe, a Running Start student and NKHS Leo, earned the Leo Leadership Award for 2017-2018.

Emalee Burgh got her name engraved on the plaque for Leo of the Year for the Poulsbo Middle School Leo Club.

Lion Karl Ostheller and Mackenzie Crow of Kingston Middle School - the Leo of the Year Award winner for 2017-2018.

Gemma Clohesy and Abby Brown share the Leo of the Year award for the Kingston High Leo Club.

Poulsbo Middle School student Wren Mason-Todd accepts a Certificate of Achievement for her Peace Poster from Vice District Governor=Elect Patrick Burch.

Lion Karl Ostheller places pins on our newest Poulsbo Lion member, Nate Blanchard, who is going to Cal-Poly this fall in biology.



Saturday, June 2, 2018

Free concert courtesy of Poulsbo Noon Lions

Poulsbo Lions are sponsoring this performance! It's FREE (donations gladly accepted).

Starting to garden

Reitan hits membership milestone