Friday, June 27, 2014

Out with the old, and in with the new

Every year in June, there is mostly fun - but part ceremony - as awards are handed out for the previous year and new officers are installed. This year, on June 26, the venue was the Kiana Lodge, which was bursting with colorful hanging baskets of flowers, and has a wonderful view of the water. Dinner was a buffet featuring salmon and flank steak.

Above, incoming District Governor John Kirry says a few words for incoming Poulsbo Noon Club President Dennis Peters (center) and outgoing President Pat Burch.

All photos courtesy of Lion Dottie Ridgeway
Outgoing President Pat Burch (right) shows off the larger Past President's pin given to the club by Lion Lloyd Brown on his lapel.

The Kirrys with Pat and Sherri Burch.

Outgoing Evening Pride Branch President Nancy Patzer passes the gavel to incoming President Dave Risley.

Roger Sherrard had fun roasting Jay Dahlquist as he presented Jay with a Melvin Jones Fellowship. Also earning the MJ Fellowship was Lion Doug Mong, who was not feeling well this evening. Larry Linn made that presentation, and will give the award to Doug at the next meeting Doug attends.
President Pat Burch gave Joe Stenstrom the Martin Anderson Memorial Lion of the Year Award, with Dale Anderson looking on. Joe is always there to help with whatever project or event is in the works.
Terry Blais was named Lion of the Quarter for the fourth quarter.

JanetMarie Valiga earned the Rookie of the Year award for going out of her way to participate in Lions projects, even if it meant rescheduling her personal calendar.

Jim Schoettler was name Invisible Lion of the Year for all of the work he does behind the scenes that nobody else sees, such as picking up eyeglasses.
Pauline Ostheller received the Spirit Award for her cheerful demeanor and willingness to lend a hand wherever needed.

The first annual Gordon Smith Fellowship was presented by Burch for Roger Sherrard for his international work with the Albanian courts. The award is made possible from Multiple District 19 for the club's birthday donations to C.A.R.E.
Outgoing Zone Chairman Monte Faust welcomes Incoming Zone Chairman Pat Burch with a printed oath of office.
Poulsbo Lion incoming officers and board members give thumbs-up.

Anna Hall with her mom, Amanda Cheatham, and other Evening Pride Branch Lions outgoing president Nancy Patzer and Ericka Risley.

Socializing outside were Scott Puhn, Jim Schoettler, Eric Thanem and Bev Puhn.

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Handing out some of the scholarship money

Anna Hall of NK High and Emily Calder of NK High received their scholarship checks from scholarship chairman Lion Roger Sherrard at today's noon meeting.

A total of $8,000 in scholarships ($5,000 from our pancake breakfast plus $3,000 from the Lions-Raab Foundation endowment fund) was distributed to North Kitsap School District graduates and former scholarship recipients.

Starting to garden

52 NK people served with laundry program

  Lion Dori Swokowski helps Robert by feeding the dryer with quarters during Loads of Change tonight. Poulsbo Lions spent $575.25 tonight at...